QuantFunc INT4 MiniMax H3: 3.2 s per step on an RTX 4090
QuantFunc's 4-bit MiniMax H3 claims 3.2 s per step on an RTX 4090. That is not a clip time. What the card says, what it omits, and when to use a hosted job.

The QuantFunc 4-bit build of MiniMax H3 runs at 3.2 seconds per sampling step on an RTX 4090 for a 768x768, 124-frame clip, which its card says is 3.19 times faster than an FP8 baseline at 10.2 seconds. That is a per-step number, not a per-clip time, and the card does not state a VRAM requirement, so do not size a purchase from it.
Everything about QuantFunc below is from its model card, read 2026-10-03, where it is among the models trending on Hugging Face's text-to-video list. Sume's side is from the video docs.
What does the QuantFunc build claim?
The card describes a 4-bit quantized MiniMax H3 that generates video with audio from text, images or video references. It says it runs on every NVIDIA GPU of compute capability SM75 or newer: the RTX 20, 30, 40 and 50 series, A100, H100, H200, B100, B200 and GB300. The speed claim is a measurement on one card: on an RTX 4090 at 768x768 and 124 frames, INT4 takes 3.2 seconds per step against 10.2 seconds for the FP8 baseline.
The card also reports quality against the BF16 original: about 23.7 dB PSNR, and a maximum relative output error of about 7.58e-4 from FP16 folding. PSNR of that size says outputs are close but not identical to BF16, so do not expect the same frame for the same seed.
| Item | Card value | Not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Precision | 4-bit (INT4) | Which layers stay higher precision |
| GPUs | NVIDIA SM75 and newer, RTX 20 to 50 series and data-centre cards | Minimum VRAM |
| Speed on RTX 4090 | 3.2 s per step vs 10.2 s FP8 (768x768, 124 frames) | Whole-clip time |
| Fidelity vs BF16 | About 23.7 dB PSNR; max relative error about 7.58e-4 | Perceptual quality |
| Runtime | ComfyUI-QuantFunc or the QuantFunc engine; not standard Diffusers | Other runtimes |
| Terms | MiniMax H3 Community License applies to weights and derivatives | Commercial grant beyond that licence |
How long is a clip, if a step takes 3.2 seconds?
The card gives no whole-clip time, so any figure is arithmetic on its per-step number and leaves out the text encoder, the audio path, the decode and model loading. As an illustration only: at 3.2 seconds per step, 8 steps is 25.6 seconds and 20 steps is 64 seconds of sampling at 768x768 and 124 frames on that card. Longer clips and higher resolutions cost more per step; the card does not say how much.
Measure end to end on your card and your workflow before you compare it with a hosted job. MiniMax H3's ComfyUI route against a hosted API lists the limits that change between the two.
Where does a hosted job still win?
Three places. Setup: the card says QuantFunc needs its own ComfyUI node or engine and does not work with standard Diffusers, which is one more runtime to maintain. Licence: the MiniMax H3 Community License covers the weights and derivatives, so the revenue and territory conditions still apply to your output. Scale: a card renders one clip at a time, while a hosted job queue takes many.
In Sume's Video generation docs, minimax-h3 accepts 5 to 15 seconds at native 480p or 768p, and each model lists pricing_skus in GET /v1/videos/models. Read the live price there rather than from a blog post, and compare it with your own cost per GPU hour divided by clips per hour.
Should you try the 4-bit build?
Try it if you already own an NVIDIA card in the supported range and want local iteration, and run a fixed prompt through the 4-bit build and your current precision to see the difference yourself. Skip it if you need exact reproducibility against BF16 outputs, or if you deliver a few clips a week, where a hosted job is cheaper than the hours you spend on setup.
Keep a record of the build and the settings you used, because a quantized checkpoint changes output compared with the original model and you will want to explain a difference later.
Sources
Related posts
More in Models
- Qwen Image Edit Plus: $0.03 a megapixel for text edits
fal prices Qwen Image Edit Plus at $0.03 per megapixel and highlights text editing and multi-image input. What that means for a Sume edit workflow.
- Qwen Image Max is text-only on Sume; Qwen Image takes references
Qwen Image Max on Sume rejects reference images. For edits use qwen/qwen-image. The two ids compared: references, n, ratios, and the $0.075 Max list price.
- Read the Seedance 2.0 catalog row on Sume, field by field
The sample row from GET /v1/videos/models explained: durations, ratios, frame and reference types, audio, seed, pricing_skus and the empty passthrough list.
- Recast a clip with more than four people: the four-photo cap
Sume accepts 1 to 4 reference photos for H3 Max Recast, one per new person. What happens with a group shot, and three ways to work within the cap.
Written by Sume