Kling 4.0 Flash is first-frame only; what Sume's Kling 3 accepts
Kling 4.0 Flash early access takes a first-frame image, 20 s, 720p, SDR. Sume ships kling-3: 4 to 15 s, 720p/1080p, priced per second. Limits side by side.

Kling 4.0 Flash, in early access since September 28, is a narrower model than the Kling 4.0 headline suggests. fal's explainer describes it as 20 seconds at most, 720p, 8-bit SDR and first-frame image only, which is not full image-to-video (read 2026-10-04).
Sume does not list Kling 4.0. It ships kling-3: 4 to 15 seconds, 720p or 1080p, at $0.14 per second billed with audio off and $0.21 with audio on.
What does Kling 4.0 promise, and what is available now?
Kling's own announcement says the full launch comes in October, with 3 to 30 second clips, 4K output and a larger reference system. It lists 10-bit HDR as coming soon (read 2026-10-04). The Flash tier is the part people can use first, and it carries the limits above.
So the choice today is between an early-access tier with a first-frame input and a model that is routable now.
| Item | Kling 4.0 Flash (vendor and fal pages) | Sume kling-3 |
|---|---|---|
| Longest clip | 20 s | 15 s |
| Shortest clip | not stated on the pages read | 4 s |
| Resolution | 720p | 720p and 1080p |
| Image input | first frame only | first and last frame |
| Reference inputs | not stated on the pages read | none |
| Price | not read from a vendor page | $0.14 per s audio off, $0.21 audio on |
What does kling-3 take on Sume?
Kling 3 on Sume is text-to-video and image-to-video, with frame_images for a first frame and an optional last frame. It takes no reference images, videos or audio. Aspect ratios are 16:9, 9:16 and 1:1. The rate is not tiered by resolution, so 720p and 1080p cost the same per second.
A 5-second clip is $0.70 silent and $1.05 with audio.
Which Sume models take references if you need them?
If the shot needs a subject held steady, use a row that accepts input_references: Wan 3.0, the Seedance ids or the MiniMax rows. Read supported_input_references for the exact types each one takes before pinning.
- Need a clip longer than 15 seconds:
wan-3.0orseedance-2.5(30 seconds). - Need a last frame:
kling-3withframe_images. - Need image-to-video only, no audio, at 480p or 720p:
grok-imagine-video-1.5.
How do you send a first-frame request?
This pins kling-3 with a first frame. The image URL is read from the environment.
import os, requests
r = requests.post(
"https://api.sume.com/v1/videos",
headers={"Authorization": f"Bearer {os.environ['SUME_API_KEY']}"},
json={
"model": "kling-3",
"prompt": "The camera pushes in as the door opens",
"duration": 5,
"resolution": "1080p",
"frame_images": [{
"type": "image_url",
"image_url": {"url": os.environ["FIRST_FRAME_URL"]},
"frame_type": "first_frame",
}],
},
)
print(r.status_code, r.json())Sources
Related posts
More in Models
- Kling 4.0 Flash is 720p only: Sume models that reach 1080p and 4K
Kling 4.0 Flash early access outputs 720p, 3 to 20 seconds. If you need 1080p or 4K today, these Sume models take those resolutions, with the exact prices.
- Kling 4.0 Omni Reference takes 15 references; Sume limits compared
fal says Kling 4.0 Omni Reference accepts up to 15 references. On Sume, kling-3 takes none; Wan 3.0 and Gemini Omni Flash 1.1 publish their own limits.
- Kling 4.0 saved elements: 7 slots vs Sume reference URLs
Kling 4.0 reuses up to 7 saved elements per generation. Sume has no saved-element object: you send image, video and audio URLs per request. What that changes.
- Kling AI official domain: avoid lookalike sites with Kling 4.0
Kling 4.0 hype brings fake sites. TechTimes names kling.ai as official and two lookalike domains tied to malware. A checklist, plus Kling 3 via Sume.
Written by Sume